Ubuntu Lucid 10.04 on a RAID 0 array

This is a follow-up to a previous post on getting Ubuntu to work on a RAID 0 array. As usual, I make no guarantees that this will work for you. Be sure you have backups before you attempt this.

The good news: installation of Ubuntu 10.04 (using the alternate installer) to my RAID 0 array was able to finish without any problems, unlike in 9.10 where it stopped at the GRUB installation step. The bad news is that upon rebooting, I was greeted by a GRUB Error 15.

Fortunately this can be fixed by manually installing GRUB.

  1. Boot the Ubuntu 10.04 alternate installer CD. Select Rescue a broken system.
  2. Follow the dialogs, making sure you Yes to the activate RAID devices prompt, until you get to the Enter rescue mode dialog. Select your root partition and on the next dialog, choose Execute a shell in your-selected-root-partition
  3. Enter the following in the command line:

        # update-grub
        # grub-install your-RAID-0-device
        # exit
        

    Where your-RAID-0-device is where your RAID 0 array is mapped (/dev/mapper/isw_abc_RAID in my previous post). The second line installs GRUB on the MBR.

  4. Select Reboot the system and you should be able to boot into your Ubuntu 10.04 installation.

Let me know if this works for you.

10 Responses to Ubuntu Lucid 10.04 on a RAID 0 array

  1. pat says:

    Sadly, it didn’t work for me – tried to install 10.04 from the alternate CD alongside Win7, and it died at the point of installing GRUB. I tried installing GRUB manually at that point, following your instruction for Karmic, but that also didn’t work (there was no file /etc/resolv.conf to copy – possibly this is part of the reason). Any ideas?

    I am going to try just installing Karmic next… I had to use the Karmic CD anyway to get Gparted to work properly on my array (apparently the latest GParted Live CD is bugged too, both the Lucid Live CD and the latest GParted Live CD failed to partition and format my hdd).

  2. You have done it once again! Great read!

  3. Rob says:

    Sadly, it did work for me. I have a ich9r chip in raid 0 with windows7 and Ubuntu 10.04.1.
    Thanks, i have bookmarked your page.
    Hope this will help other people too.

    Kind regards,

    Rob

  4. Jeff Moon says:

    What partitioning scheme did you use for your install? Did you have a seperate /boot partition? Did you do the whole disk as RAID0? Thanks!

    • neildecapia says:

      I have two identical 80GB SATA hard disks mapped to a single RAID 0 array. Windows 7 took up two primary partitions, and I created 2 more primary partitions for Linux, one root and one swap.

  5. max says:

    Thanks, It seems like it has worked, since now it displays grub on boot and if I select windows7 it starts well, but with ubuntu it just goes black. Do you know what could be?

  6. max says:

    nevermind it was the nvidia driver. but was weird since the liveCD was loading fine.

  7. Pingback: And I try, and I try, and I try

  8. Ashish says:

    Thanks for the post.. I spent a lot of time going through other documents and trying those..
    finally this one worked out :)
    I am using windows 7 and ubuntu 10.04 dual boot on RAID1.

  9. lieuthier says:

    Hey there,

    I did everything as you said and got “/dev/mapper/isw_bdedjhefji_Volume0 does not have any corresponding BIOS drive” after I did:

    #grub-install /dev/mapper/isw_bdedjhefji_Volume0

    I’m trying to install Ubuntu Natty 11.04…

    Thanks a lot for the post (and for the previous one too). I just couldn’t find this anywhere else.

Leave a Reply

